What is the 5 Star Consortium?

On July 1, 2010, the Presidents of Cascadia College, Edmonds Community College, Everett Community College, Lake Washington Technical College, and Shoreline Community College signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to create the 5 Star Consortium.

The goal of the Five Star Consortium is to maximize efficiencies and promote institutional coordination and collaboration.

Below is the text from the MOU:

 “We recognize that through collaboration and coordination, we can better serve our students and our communities as we fulfill that mission. To that end, we hereby establish a consortium of our colleges, hereafter to be known as the “Five Star Consortium,” with the goal of maximizing efficiencies and promoting institutional coordination and collaboration.

As such, the member colleges of the Five Star Consortium
agree, where prudent and feasible, to the following principles:

  •  All students should be permitted to attend the member college of their choice.
  • Bureaucratic barriers for students attending any of the member colleges should be reduced and/or eliminated.
  • The strengths of the member colleges should be leveraged for resource development and community engagement.
  • Each member college will accept and honor the courses, credits and degrees earned by students at any other member college.
  • The member colleges will seek to align their programs, services and/or administrative functions with each other.
We mutually commit and pledge to seek specific coordination
and collaboration projects that will be addressed through subsequent
interagency agreements.

Never miss an update! Subscribe to the 5 Star Consortium Blog today!